Don’t worry, be happy

So far, I’ve been failing pretty hard on that thing.  You know, that whole self-improvement thing where I try and focus on one of the 22 non-exclusive traits of happy people?  But then I realized that by not worrying about not not worrying, I’m actually not worrying.

In the end, California didn’t bite at all (not until I accepted an offer already at least), and I didn’t want to stay in North Carolina.  Yes, I’ll be driving 100 miles each day, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to shake that nagging feeling that I should have just taken the NY AG position in Manhattan.  But I’m living next to the beach in Brooklyn (for free?!), I have a federal judicial internship with a former United States Attorney (EDNY also handles all of the terrorism cases), I’m right next to a subway line that’ll take me right into the city for improv and jiu jitsu, and I’ll have oodles and oodles of driving hours this summer to learn Portuguese (finally!).

And that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

