Spiderman

ariadne

This is Ariadne (original, I know!).  Say hi Ariadne! (She’s waving all her legs and smiling. Can’t you see that smile?).  She lives in a Venti Starbucks cup right now, but once I’m done with my trail mix, I’m going to move her over to a Spider-man-sion.

No love story is complete without a “OMG HOW DID U MEET LOL?”  Okay, I’ll bite.  So when I woke up this morning, I turned on the light and she scuttled away really quickly.  When I was getting ready to leave, she peeked back out again, so I caught her in a coffee cup.  Usually, she would have a concoction of different liquids of varying viscosity poured on her with childlike glee, but for some reason, I decided that I wanted a pet spider because my apartment was getting lonely.  And because I’m uncreative at 5 am, I decided to call her Ariadne.  I also decided that she would be a female, mostly because I’m bad at sexing spiders.  Sorry if you should actually be Ariadno.

She’s not the most affectionate of pets (yet) and I probably won’t be the most affectionate owner, but she’s kind of grown on me!  Today, I watched her clean her front legs for around 5 minutes today, which is probably 10 minutes longer than a reasonably prudent person would spend watching a spider.  So far, I’ve discovered that spiders do not eat dried worms, pine nuts, Chipotle tortillas, or wads of paper.  That’s four down.

I hope she’s not poisonous.

Leave a Reply

