Obligatory Almost-End-Of-Year Post

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” That’s from Semisonic’s “Closing Time”, favored song of sunburned frat boys linking their arms and singing this at bars when they’re about to be kicked out. (I think Semisonic stole this from Seneca though…) It sounds like a clever little aphorism that you’d stick in a graduation speech or a WordPress blog in a desperate attempt to sound clever, but if you think about it, it’s so…simply true. It’s one of those statements that sounds somewhat like an affront to one’s intelligence — essentially, it can be translated as “Things follow each other.” Thanks Seneca.

But I do think there’s some sort of deeper meaning that can be ascribed to all this, at least for me. It really hasn’t hit me just how fast my undergraduate career has come to a close.  I’ve been consumed so much with work, LCC, jiu jitsu, and school that I haven’t really had time to stop and smell the roses (read: check the nostalgia-saturated Facebook status updates of my Berkeley and USC friends who are graduating).  It feels somewhat akin to being on a train that is suddenly accelerating to lightspeed (activate hyperdrive?), and some maniac/villain broke off the emergency brake and tossed it out the window. But back to Seneca. I think he’s on the right track, but I think he’s wrong because I don’t think that anything ever ends. I think beginnings just come out of other beginnings.

So no, I’m refuse to write a post that sums up my career. It is what it is, and there’s no need to end it. It’s just time to let a new beginning come forth from it.

One comment on “Obligatory Almost-End-Of-Year Post

  1. Brian says:

    “I’m refuse” I’m glad you are talking English lessons from Julie haha

Leave a Reply

